New

Older

Mail me

Leave a note

Diaryland

Happy 10th - 7:02 p.m. , 2012-01-10

Wow - 6:22 p.m. , 2010-09-23

happy anniversary to me! - 9:13 p.m. , 2008-08-22

Ahhh, much better - 7:58 p.m. , 2007-11-03

I bought a house - 8:25 p.m. , 2007-07-20

2003-11-22 - 10:20 p.m.

Went to see Jane Siberry Thursday night at the Iron Horse based on a lone recommendation from the Nook. It was really weird being there "by myself" and I sat in the balcony. I'd forgotten how uncomfortable the furniture is up there. The music completely blew me away and I loved it so much I decided to go to New Haven the next night and see her again. I'm so glad I did.

The ride down to New Haven was excruciating - I got stuck in Hartford's stop-and-go traffic and what should have been an hour trip turned into about an hour and 45 minutes. I felt like I was gonna puke all the way, my new belt was cutting into me and I felt so nauseated, and I couldn't get away from some stinky diesel trucks.

I'd only been to New Haven once before - to hear Moxy Fruvous at Toad's Place. I think I drove through part of Yale's campus - it was pretty. I drove around and around looking for a parking spot, and on my fifth pass by the venue, I noticed a parking spot in front of it (a church on the town green) so YKWIS and I parked there.

Got out..walked around for a few minutes looking for a place to eat. Passed by a few trendy bistros that I just didn't feel up for. Found a real dive full of college kids. Decided to eat there. Felt old and horribly, crushingly alone in the midst of bunches of groups of friends.

The concert more than made up for the horrible drive and the miserable dinner...it was transcendent. *swoon*

Go see her if she's near you.

http://www.sheeba.ca/tour.php

Previous <=> Next