New

Older

Mail me

Leave a note

Diaryland

Happy 10th - 7:02 p.m. , 2012-01-10

Wow - 6:22 p.m. , 2010-09-23

happy anniversary to me! - 9:13 p.m. , 2008-08-22

Ahhh, much better - 7:58 p.m. , 2007-11-03

I bought a house - 8:25 p.m. , 2007-07-20

2003-08-10 - 8:41 p.m.

Now playing: Live "Mamma, Mamma" by Fruit, from Live at The Basement.

===================

It's Sunday night, I'm done with email, they're boring me in #diabetic-talk, so I thought I'd write a little diary update.

Um.

Let's see.

On the "go me" front, I've been much better about exercising. I raised the seat a notch on the bike and just about doubled the intensity of the workout! What an amazing difference. Today I managed to do about 10 minutes at 90 RPM or above, and that was both on the 3-dot intensity level and the 2-dot (3 being more resistance). The intensity pattern is:

.:|:|:|:|:|:|::.

with . = level 1 with one dot on the display, : = level 3, with two dots on the display, and | = level 5, with three dots on the display. Each level lasts about 1:15, as I set the total program at 20 minutes.

Anyway, today I did really well and am proud of myself. I found a sweet spot of sorts and really kicked ass, riding 5.57 miles and burning 179 calories according to the bike's computer.

================

Tomorrow I have to call my landlord for maintenance. The tub upstairs seems to be leaking again and my bathroom ceiling is discoloring. This happened in 1998 or so, and they came and fixed it and put up new ceiling in a part of the bathroom. I also need them to replace the washers in my kitchen faucet. Lastly, my kitchen has tiny brown ants all of a sudden, and I think they're coming from where the kitchen sink drain pipe goes into the wall. There's quite a huge hole there. Little skeeves me out more than vermin. I went to Home Depot today and got some Raid and some ant traps, and I've only seen a few ants since I sprayed and set out the traps. What a PITA.

=================

Last weekend I had my friends over for dinner, and dragged out my good china and crystal. I was embarrassed about my cheap flatware, and almost bought a new set that day at Costco. I didn't, however, thinking it was just too much of a luxury. I regretted not buying it.

Yesterday I bought it. Gracious, but it's got HUGE pieces - they're three times as thick as my old stuff and about 30% larger overall - for that European style. Click here to see it - and I paid $70 for the exact same thing, including wood caddy, at Costco. I was worried it wouldn't all fit in the small drawer I keep my silverware in, but it all just barely fits. It's weird eating with it - I feel like I'm at a restaurant!

==============

My office building's network rewire is scheduled to begin on Tuesday. I'm filled with dread. Our existing network will stay up...but....I just don't have a good feeling. We'll see how it goes.

Previous <=> Next