New

Older

Mail me

Leave a note

Diaryland

Happy 10th - 7:02 p.m. , 2012-01-10

Wow - 6:22 p.m. , 2010-09-23

happy anniversary to me! - 9:13 p.m. , 2008-08-22

Ahhh, much better - 7:58 p.m. , 2007-11-03

I bought a house - 8:25 p.m. , 2007-07-20

2002-11-24 - 7:45 p.m.

Now playing: Track 1 of the new Jane Monheit disc I bought today.

==================

WOW. What a day of shopping I did today. Left home at 1. Discovered bed store has changed names to a new chain, and was closed. Still full of beds so I'm going to head back tomorrow. Went to other bed store but it had window signs for brands I've not heard of, so I didn't even go in. Bad me.

Headed up to Sears at Holyoke Mall to check out their bedding. *choke* Stearns and Foster is expensive stuff! Even the few Sealys they had on display were a grand. Hmmm...note to self: the $500 I spent on a bed in 1995 really was nothing, which explains why I got such a shitty bed. Also at Sears, I got a rug pad so that my bedroom area rug stops moving all around on the wall-to-wall.

Left Sears and went to Casual Male, the big and tall men's clothing store. What slim pickings! However, I did manage to buy:

1 pair of narrow-wale brown corduroys. (Haven't had corduroys since 1985 or so.)

1 quarter-zip pullover dark green and navy fleece pullover jersey/shirt thingy. I wouldn't normally buy such a thing but I'm trying to dress a little more fashionably.

1 pair gray sweatpants, really heavy-weight. Now I won't freeze in the mornings at the park. I've only been meaning to buy these since February.

2 flannel plaid button-down shirts, one blue and one forest green.

3 t-shirts which I wear underneath other shirts: 1 navy, 1 steel gray, and 1 heather gray.

3 twin packs of undershirts, for a total of six. I've only needed more undershirts since ever.

Whew! I didn't buy the pine green ribbed chenille pullover shirt since I didn't like how it fit.

*=*

Left Casual Male and headed down through Agawam and Suffield CT to the Media Play in Enfield. Nice drive.

At Media Play, which continually amazes me as to its SUCK-ASS selection (Hi Chrissy!) in music and books, I bought the new Sailor Moon DVD as I mentioned in yesterday's entry. I also bought seasons 1-3 of Absolutely Fabulous, sweetie darling, as well as the Dixie Chicks' and Jane Monheit's new albums.

=*=

Left Media Play and went to Bob's Stores, which is a discount clothing store at which I traditionally get shoes since that's the only thing they carry which fits. Found what looks like to be a good pair of winter boots. I've only been needing new boots for the past 3 or 4 years now. Also picked up a three-pack of black athletic socks, just as I did when I bought my last pair of boots there in 1994 or so.

*=*

Left Bob's and went across the street to Pier 1. UGH they had Christmas music playing, but at least it was nice Christmas music of Der Bingle and Ella, etc. Found a set of porcelain soy sauce dishes for sushi which I've been wanting to get for both me and Mom for a long time. I hope she likes them. Resisted the lure of glass bead fruit which would look awesome in a glass bowl I have from Gramma and Grampa's house. Was generally overwhelmed by the abundance of Christmas merchandise which has probably been out since the day after Halloween.

=&=

Went down the plaza to Shaw's supermarket. What a freaking nice store - I wish there was one up here. And I think their prices are better than Stop & Shop - the yogurt I get was only $2.99 there opposed to the normal $3.39 it is up here. I had made a whole list of stuff to get, but since I neglected to get a cart, I only bought a few things. Waist Watchers soda, the bane of my teen years at Dad's house, now is made with Splenda, so I am giving the root beer and lemon-up flavors a try. Also got some frozen vegetables (oriental style!) and a new bottle of lite soy sauce since the one I had dated from 1996 and was icky.

%^%

Left Shaw's and drove up to Li Brothers. Had delightful dinner with Karen - the shrimp in garlic sauce was delicious, as were the unagi & avocado roll and the 2 pieces of ikura. YUM. I mauwed it all down right proper. (Is that proper usage and spelling of "mauw", Karen?) We had nice conversation and it was relaxing. The food there is always really excellent no matter what one decides on. Speaking of which, I should go test my blood sugar...

Oof. 121. I strive to keep my 2-hour post-meal readings under 120. I wonder why it's high? I didn't have that much rice. Maybe the shrimp dish had some sugar in it? Or the water chestnuts affected me? I didn't have very much rice at all. I guess I shouldn't be too worried as there's like a 10% margin of error on the handheld meters.

So, that was my day. After dinner I came home, put the rug backing on - it works perfectly, thank you very much - and took all the tags off my new clothes. I also made copies of the CDs. I've learned to immediately make copies of new CDs - that way the originals stay pristine, and it doesn't matter if the copies get a bit munged.

=====================

So.

Shithead upstairs has a girlfriend.

Shithead and said girlfriend are having lots of sex.

Said girlfriend moans quite loudly.

And Shithead's bed squeaks quite loudly, too.

I have to give them props, though, for being so enthusiastic. A few times last weekend...Last night at 10:30...this morning at 7:30...this morning at 10:30... It's so wonderful to wake up to the sounds of other people having sex. NOT.

At least I haven't heard his movies lately in the living room...although right now I can hear his stereo. I don't know what's worse, being annoyed in the living room, or being bemused in the bedroom. I pray that it's serious and he moves in with her. It'd be a nightmare if she moved in here.

I burnt a disc of snappy Nields songs last night for my bedroom boom box.

Previous <=> Next