New

Older

Mail me

Leave a note

Diaryland

Happy 10th - 7:02 p.m. , 2012-01-10

Wow - 6:22 p.m. , 2010-09-23

happy anniversary to me! - 9:13 p.m. , 2008-08-22

Ahhh, much better - 7:58 p.m. , 2007-11-03

I bought a house - 8:25 p.m. , 2007-07-20

2002-09-02 - 8:33 p.m.

Now playing: Some track off of Side 2 of Lawrence Welk's _Winchester Cathedral_ LP I bought used today for $1. :D

=================

Not much to report. Today Mom and I went to Northampton for sushi and shopping. The sushi we had was wicked inferior to what we've been having at Li's Brothers in Longmeadow, and this supposedly was at one of the best sushi places in Northampton. We then did some shopping, the bulk of which consisted of me spending an hour in B-Side Records going through their record bins in the basement. :D

I found a lot of neat stuff, and bought 2 Lawrence Welk albums, and two Command albums - the Ray Charles Singers (not *that* Ray Charles) and Tony Mottola's Romantic Guitar. Both albums sound really fantastic, even though the music is pure cheese. I will buy any gatefold Command LP anywhere I find it, no matter what it is, and these were a steal at only $2 each. I also got a Fine Young Cannibals album and a percussive album, the first volume of which I picked up at a furniture consignment store. I'm eager to hear the second volume. I also got a Lionel Hampton album but it sounds *horrible* - I think it's worn out. Shame, really. I had to take it off, it sounded so bad.

I should have bought the Loretta Lynn Christmas album.

There are still some racks there I haven't gone through - but give me time.

A few comments:

Who knew that Steve Lawrence and Eydie Gorme each had solo careers? It was quite the shocker.

Who knew that Linda Ronstadt was *so* damned popular back in the day? It seemed like every other record was hers.

Previous <=> Next