New

Older

Mail me

Leave a note

Diaryland

Happy 10th - 7:02 p.m. , 2012-01-10

Wow - 6:22 p.m. , 2010-09-23

happy anniversary to me! - 9:13 p.m. , 2008-08-22

Ahhh, much better - 7:58 p.m. , 2007-11-03

I bought a house - 8:25 p.m. , 2007-07-20

2002-09-05 - 7:56 p.m.

Now playing: "Princess Moon" (of course it's a Sailor Moon song); MP3 available on request :D

============

Email I just sent:

Hi all,

I just wanted to share the good news I got from my doctor today: I'm doing so well managing my diabetes that I can stop taking one of the medications (glyburide) that I was put on in January. How's that for hard work paying off!

He also said I didn't need to be testing as rigorously as I am (twice a day) -- that getting my fasting blood glucose numbers a few times a week was sufficient -- but I'm going to keep on my schedule for a while, I think, especially to monitor how I do with my new medication regime. If my numbers creep up, I'm to double to the dose of the other medication (metformin) I've been taking, and if that doesn't work, then to try a half-dose of the glyburide. My doctor doesn't anticipate that being necessary, however.

He also said that if I feel like having the occasional drink or ice cream cone, to go ahead and do it. :D

My blood pressure also is fine at 127/76.

Next week I should be getting the results of the bloodwork done today. I anticipate my HbA1C number (the main diabetic indicator) to be as good as it was four months ago, in the low-normal range of 4.5. Anything under 7 indicates good control; anything under 5 is outstanding. At the end of January, my A1C was 9.1. In May it was 4.5.

--Adam

Previous <=> Next