New

Older

Mail me

Leave a note

Diaryland

Happy 10th - 7:02 p.m. , 2012-01-10

Wow - 6:22 p.m. , 2010-09-23

happy anniversary to me! - 9:13 p.m. , 2008-08-22

Ahhh, much better - 7:58 p.m. , 2007-11-03

I bought a house - 8:25 p.m. , 2007-07-20

2002-03-21 - 7:56 p.m.

Now playing: "Yesterday's Girl" from _Love and China_.

------------

I guess I can play the game, too.

----------

15 years ago, in March 1987, I:

1.) Couldn't wait to graduate from high school in 1989 so I could go to college and get out of the house;

2.) Was experiencing the last work-free year of my life and didn't know it;

3.) Was getting comfortable using the VAX for email and word processing;

4.) Was still short, about 5'7" or so;

5.) Was starting to feel an acute lack of friends.

10 years ago, in March 1992, I:

1.) Was in college having the time of my life;

2.) Was consumed with trying to scrape up money to continue college;

3.) Didn't give any thought to what I was going to do with a B.A. in history;

4.) Was getting along better with Dad than ever before;

5.) pulled the only all-nighter of my life to work on a history paper about Nazi ideology, and then fell asleep at 3:30 in the afternoon.

5 years ago,in March 1997, I:

1.) Had been in my apartment for 7 months and was loving being truly independent;

2.) Was still taking Zoloft to treat my depression;

3.) Was kind of freaked that Dad quit being a life insurance salesman to become a cross-country truck driver;

4.) Bought my first stereo receiver, a Sony STR-DE605 from Costco;

5.) Was loving being an uncle to my nephew in Phoenix and my niece here in Springfield.

[skipping 2 years ago]

1 year ago, in March 2001, I:

1.) Was taking more and more care of Grampa;

2.) Was feeling awfully burnt-out at work;

3.) Was starting to not trust my car anymore;

4.) Had been off the Zoloft for 2 months and felt fine;

5.) Was really feeling the lack of a Fruvous concert to look forward to.

Yesterday, I:

1.) Decided for sure I was going to buy a new stereo;

2.) Did my taxes and grumbled at another year of having to pay;

3.) Had the same boring old lunch;

4.) Grumbled about the winter weather;

5.) Decided to do this survey. :D

Today, I:

1.) Woke up rarin' to go, but slept for another half hour anyway;

2.) Bought the new stereo receiver and a new Sailor Moon DVD;

3.) Have had to endure my shitheaded upstairs neighbor's noise once again;

4.) Am contemplating going to talk to the landlord tomorrow about it, face to face;

5.) Slacked and didn't walk at lunchtime!

Tomorrow, I will:

1.) Sleep in! yay! but will probably wake up at 6:30 anyway;

2.) Will shop for my Words-L dinner part on Saturday;

3.) Will clean and dust my living room;

4.) Might buy a subwoofer to go along with new receiver;

5.) Will try to enjoy my day off.

Five items I have brand loyalty to:

1.) Tide with Bleach, and Downy;

2.) Tropicana orange juice;

3.) Back in the day, Marlboro Menthols;

4.) Back in the day, Hershey chocolate;

5.) Charmin Ultra double rolls (TMI, but YKWIS)

Five snacks I enjoy:

Um, since I am diabetic now, there really aren't too many snack foods I eat. But!

1.) Original-flavor Doritos;

2.) Cheddar-and-sour-cream Ruffles;

3.) Cashews;

4.) I can't say I enjoy lite yogurt, but I snack on it at work;

5.) in my former life, Big Kats.

Five songs I know the words to, without the music:

Can't. The music and words are inextricably linked.

1.) Sweet Dreams, Patsy Cline;

2.) I Fall To Pieces, Patsy Cline;

3.) Gotta Get Over Greta, The Nields;

4.) Sky High, Jigsaw;

5.) Don't Leave Me This Way, Thelma Houston.

Five games I like:

1.) Aggravation!;

2.) Hearts;

3.) INTERNATIONAL RUMMY!!!!!!;

4.) Uno;

5.) Road Warrior (a.k.a. my drive home from work).

Five albums that changed my life:

1.) _Sentimentally Yours and Showcase_, Patsy Cline, a double cassette I bought in 1987 or so;

2.) _Die Walkure_, Richard Wagner, got me through college

3.) _You Will Go To The Moon_, Moxy Fruvous;

4.) _Play_, The Nields;

5.) _Persuasive Percussion_, Enoch Light (yay stereo separation!)

Five things I can't live without:

1.) Financial security or a simulacrum thereof;

2.) A fan while I sleep;

3.) Coffee with half-and-half;

4.) My family;

5.) My ability to forget painful situations.

Five things I would buy with one thousand dollars:

That's it?? And I'm not counting paying down debt.

1.) A new bed;

2.) An entertainment center;

3.) A bigger TV;

4.) New rugs;

5.) Actual silver silverware.

My top five guilty pleasures:

1.) Sailor Moon;

2.) Bewitched;

3.) Trading Spaces;

4.) cheesy 60's Christmas music;

5.) Car shows on TNN.

My top five recent musicians:

1.) Nerissa and Katryna Nields;

2.) Marly Hornik;

3.) various Japanese stuff (see Sailor Moon);

4.) Patsy Cline;

5.) The Innocence Mission.

My top five locations to which to run away:

1.) England;

2.) Germany;

3.) Italy;

4.) North Carolina's seashore;

5.) anywhere, really.

I think that's it!

Previous <=> Next