New

Older

Mail me

Leave a note

Diaryland

Happy 10th - 7:02 p.m. , 2012-01-10

Wow - 6:22 p.m. , 2010-09-23

happy anniversary to me! - 9:13 p.m. , 2008-08-22

Ahhh, much better - 7:58 p.m. , 2007-11-03

I bought a house - 8:25 p.m. , 2007-07-20

2002-01-11 - 9:40 p.m.

Now playing: "Interiors by Design" on HGTV. It always amuses me how rich people can live in such ugly surroundings. Then again, I do see some stuff I really like.

I want a pre-war house. Basically, the house I grew up in would do me fine. It was perfectly-sized. Not too big, not too small, and very good flow on the first floor. Full cellar, full attic. Too bad Dad lost it!

=================

Today's goals were all achieved. Go me!

1) Change coffee order at Dunkin' Donuts. Done. Went from large with extra cream and extra sugar to a medium with cream and no sugar, Splenda added upon arrival at work. Not sure how much I like Splenda yet.

2) Go for walk at lunchtime. Went for a 10-minute walk around the office park with Sharon, the company secretary. We would have walked more but it was raining and icky. It felt good to move.

3) Order MedicAlert bracelet. I always thought they were free. They're not. Turns out there's a whole service you buy - the EMTs who find you collapsed or whatever call the number, and the monitoring service people relay the information you provided to the hospital, plus they call as many contacts as you listed to let them know. I just took the basic stainless steel bracelet since I think my body chemistry would corrode anything else. I did think about the sterling silver one, but...I'm cheap. So, that was $35 for the bracelet and one year of service. Further years cost $20 each. I figure that's pretty good peace of mind.

4) Download software for blood glucose meter and order the interface cable. Done and done. The software can do all sorts of whiz-bang charting 'n' stuff. The freakin' cable was $20!! I couldn't believe it. Plus, I'll need a 25-to-9 serial pin adapter. I think I have one of those here already, though.

============

My fasting glucose level was 337; I took it again right before lunch and it was 307. I hope the doubled glyburide dose is effective.

=============

Sunday late afternoon, Mom and I are driving up to the farm so I can check out Ginny's NordicTrac. We're staying the night and returning Monday. We're both taking the day off. It's nice of Mom to help me like this.

I hope I like the NordicTrac and can do it - I'd hate to have made the trip for nothing. I am afraid that the tracks on the NordicTrac won't be far enough apart. Maybe it's adjustable. I can't seem to find the NordicTrac website. Surely there must be one somewhere. Google wasn't much help.

============

And Chrissy, that band you mentioned sucks. Even if they are the new fresh thing, they still suck. :D

Previous <=> Next