New

Older

Mail me

Leave a note

Diaryland

Happy 10th - 7:02 p.m. , 2012-01-10

Wow - 6:22 p.m. , 2010-09-23

happy anniversary to me! - 9:13 p.m. , 2008-08-22

Ahhh, much better - 7:58 p.m. , 2007-11-03

I bought a house - 8:25 p.m. , 2007-07-20

2002-01-10 - 9:10 p.m.

Now playing: "Will and Grace" on the electric teevee.

-------------------

Man am I tired. Hoohah, I hear my bed a-callin'. It's comin' round the bend.

------------------

Today I had my follow-up meeting with the training nurse at my doctor's office. She didn't tell me much that I didn't already know, and didn't place me on a restrictive diet per se. Just moderation in everything, avoid sugar, and exercise. I see her again in two weeks, and I will be keeping a food diary.

Dr. Solon prescribed a blood glucose monitoring machine. It's going to take some getting used to, pricking my finger every day with a lancet. I am to do it twice a day. Tonight after dinner, it was 316. Ideally it will be between 70 and 109.

I bought all kinds of diet foods at the grocery store. Well, not all kinds. 4 or 5. Splenda packets, diet iced tea mix, Healthy Choice ice cream, and seltzer. How I will miss my 27-grams-of-sugar-per-8-ounces lemonade and limeade.

==========

You know what music is new and fresh and cool? Dusty Springfield's. I was listening to her today. Great stuff! You should listen to her. There's so much more to her opus than "Son of a Preacher Man." She's the COOL NEW BAND.

Previous <=> Next