New

Older

Mail me

Leave a note

Diaryland

Happy 10th - 7:02 p.m. , 2012-01-10

Wow - 6:22 p.m. , 2010-09-23

happy anniversary to me! - 9:13 p.m. , 2008-08-22

Ahhh, much better - 7:58 p.m. , 2007-11-03

I bought a house - 8:25 p.m. , 2007-07-20

2002-01-08 - 7:10 p.m.

Now playing: Mandy Barnett, _I've Got A Right To Cry_.

=======================

Today's visit to my new physician confirmed my thoughts that I might be suffering from type II diabetes. The reason I thought I was suffering from it was the sudden onset between Thanksgiving and Christmas of dry mouth, constant thirst, frequent urination both during the day and night, and the vision problems (which I had attributed to having trouble adjusting to my new glasses).

My blood sugar reading from the fingerstick was over 500, while normally it's beneath 120. They couldn't give me an exact number because the little portable machine they used didn't register high enough. There were various compounds in my urine which also confirmed this. (That also explains why it was smelling so sweet.)

My blood pressure is also too high.

Dr. Solon has placed me on two medications, Zestril to bring my blood pressure down, and Glyburide to help the insulin I produce be absorbed better. I am picking them up at the pharmacy tonight. One is to be taken at night, the other in the morning.

I also had my reflexes checked, my hearing checked, the usual other pokings and proddings which were none too fun, and an EKG (which the nurse explained all new patients to the practice get).

Lastly, they gave me a 10 milligram shot of insulin, and I do feel better. I then went next door to the phlebotomist where they took 3 vials of blood for further testing.

I am to return to the office on Thursday morning for a fasting test. At that time I will also be meeting with their "training nurse" on what I assume will be a diet and exercise life modification program.

Knowledge is power, and that's half the battle. (God bless us, G.I. Joe.)

=========

And there you have it.

Previous <=> Next