New

Older

Mail me

Leave a note

Diaryland

Happy 10th - 7:02 p.m. , 2012-01-10

Wow - 6:22 p.m. , 2010-09-23

happy anniversary to me! - 9:13 p.m. , 2008-08-22

Ahhh, much better - 7:58 p.m. , 2007-11-03

I bought a house - 8:25 p.m. , 2007-07-20

2002-06-27 - 8:43 p.m.

Now playing: The CD of songs we used to have on 45 until my ex-brother-in-law lost them all, the dope!

=========

I am Supreme Geek at work.

I run on a 19" monitor at 1600 x 1200 resolution, which is enough for a FrameMaker document to be open and for our primary application to be open next to it. Usually this is enough screen real estate. However, since I've been working on the 5.0 update, which means smushing the 4.0 and 4.2 updates into the 3.2 User's Guide, I've had to have two documents open next to each other, which left no room for the primary application. So I've been toggling back and forth for two weeks now and it was really irritating.

So this morning I had the brilliant idea of putting another video card into my computer and using a spare monitor with it. Voila! There is now a cheap POS ATI Mach64 card in there from 1997 which has a Silicon Graphics GDM-17E21 monitor attached to it. I now have an additional 1024 x 768 screen to work with, and it's a seamless extension of my desktop in XP, W2K,and 98. It doesn't work in NT4, but I hardly ever use NT4 so I'm not worried. It doesn't work well for video playback, but I don't need to do that on that monitor - I can use my good one for that. All this one has to do is run my primary application, and I'm good to go. People at work are either impressed or making fun of me for doing the same thing that our reviled graphic artist did with his Macintosh.

=====

Now playing: "Black Rebel Motorcycle Club" courtesy of a coworker. It's pretty good!

=====

Granny sent Auntie Val a thank-you note for the fridge.

Oh well, it's better than not sending one at all, I guess.

=====

Tomorrow night I'm seeing Rush in Hartford with Melanie. My first big show! I did see Bonnie Raitt at Tanglewood in 1991 but I'm expecting this Rush show to be a bit bigger.

Previous <=> Next