New

Older

Mail me

Leave a note

Diaryland

Happy 10th - 7:02 p.m. , 2012-01-10

Wow - 6:22 p.m. , 2010-09-23

happy anniversary to me! - 9:13 p.m. , 2008-08-22

Ahhh, much better - 7:58 p.m. , 2007-11-03

I bought a house - 8:25 p.m. , 2007-07-20

2002-06-15 - 8:31 p.m.

Now playing: Marly Hornik, "Just the Thought of You" from her new album _Say You Do_. Marly is SO GOOD. (Her website seems to be having some issues. *sigh*)

============

Today has been a long day.

I brought Granny to the Red Lion Inn for lunch. The drive up was fine, but she kept dozing off. Her legs are puffy with edema and she has back/hip pain that makes walking painful. Getting to the dining room was a challenge but we did it with a stop at the bathroom on the way.

She had a bowl of clam chowder. I had the pate appetizer (YUM it came with cornichons which I love) and this lobster and macaroni dish with spinach, bacon, and herbed creme fr�iche that was ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS. It was one of the best things I've eaten in a long time.It was the kind of good that you can't stop eating even though you want to. I did manage to finally stop eating it, leaving just macaroni and sauce behind.

One of the women at the next table whined to her waitress that such and such a dish had spinach in it and not arugula like the menu said, and she wouldn't have ordered it if she'd known that. I wanted to smack her.

Then Rue McClanahan came in, but since Granny had her back to the rest of the dining room, I chose not to tell her to avoid embarrasment potential. I told her when we got to the car. I guess Rue must be doing theater work in the Berkshires for the summer or something. I thought to myself as she walked in, "Is that Rue McClanahan?" and then she talked, and I was sure of it. It was kind of neat.

Granny didn't order dessert or coffee, which was mildly shocking. I paid the bill, and we left, stopping at the bathroom on the way of course. Granny's calling card, alas, is a clogged toilet, and today was no exception. *sigh*

So then on the way home I laid the big whammy on her and told her we (my three sisters and myself) were buying her a new fridge with a frost-free freezer so she could store more than 3 frozen dinners in her fridge. It went over like a lead balloon. She tried every card in her deck of tricks to wiggle out of it. You'd think that getting a *free* brand-new major appliance (It's a MAJOR AWARD) to replace your old junky one would be a cause for happiness. For Granny, it's not. I swear, I was riding in the car with Linda Blair from the Exorcist.

Nothing she did could dissuade me; logic was my shield and reason was my lance. She cried, she protested, she begged, she pleaded, she refused, she said she was kidding all those time she's called Mom or me asking to bring her food or take her out since she had nothing to eat in the house and didn't feel well enough to go grocery shopping. None of it worked. She eventually fell asleep.

We got back to her house, and she started in again about how why are we making her change, taking away her independence, blah blah blah. I still held firm. She gave it up.

I them swept the pollen off her porch (in my nice clothes) and then, as I was leaving the porch, slipped on her stone pathway and fell into a plant bed. Nothing's hurt, and I was fortunate to have fallen on my butt into some leaves and mud. I then left.

Now all I have to do is buy the damn fridge and schedule its delivery for Friday afternoon when she's out with Auntie Val who's coming down for the day.

Previous <=> Next