New

Older

Mail me

Leave a note

Diaryland

Happy 10th - 7:02 p.m. , 2012-01-10

Wow - 6:22 p.m. , 2010-09-23

happy anniversary to me! - 9:13 p.m. , 2008-08-22

Ahhh, much better - 7:58 p.m. , 2007-11-03

I bought a house - 8:25 p.m. , 2007-07-20

2001-11-27 - 9:45 p.m.

Now Playing: Onaji Namida wo Wakeatte. I bought this as a birthday present to myself.

==========

I don't really have much to write about, but I feel I should at least make an effort.

Let's see...I made a few changes around the house thanks to Boutique Target. In the living room, I bought tension curtain rods and some ivy-lace panels to hang on them to give me a little more privacy. I also pulled the mini-blinds all the way up. Together with both huge plants now being gone, one to the Dumpster and one to Karen's friend Lindsay, the living room looks a lot different. It feels bigger somehow. I also had to buy light bulbs of a lower wattage for my Mission floor lamp. Without the big plant to absorb some of the light, the 60-watt bulbs were just too bright. The 40w's I put in seem better. Now instead of glare there's just a nice incandescent glow in my living room. I do want to find a peace lily of a moderate size to go on top of the speaker in front of the window.

I also bought a tension shower curtain rod and a new shower curtain liner. I'm so tall that when I wash my hair, the water bounces off my head and onto the wall. To prevent that, when I moved in (August 1996) I cut an old shower curtain in half and hung the upper half on the bathroom wall above the tub surround using nails and picture wire. Well, it had gotten sufficiently icky for me to think about replacing it rather than keeping on cleaning it, so I finally just did it. The shower rod was only $10, I had a set of extra hooks, and I just cut the old liner to fit. It looks way better, and since it's a light beige instead of the old hunter green (*EVERYTHING* I bought back then was hunter green) I get a lot more reflected light in the shower.

So, for $45 I did a little update, things I'd been wanting to do for a long time, and it's much better. I will admit that the curtains are a bit femme but You Know What I Say.

Oh yeah, Karen, Lindsay, and myself had yummy sushi at Li Brothers' Inn in Longmeadow on Friday. It was good. I'll have to go there a few more times before I can offer up a good comparison of it and Taipei Tokyo in Northampton.

Previous <=> Next