New

Older

Mail me

Leave a note

Diaryland

Happy 10th - 7:02 p.m. , 2012-01-10

Wow - 6:22 p.m. , 2010-09-23

happy anniversary to me! - 9:13 p.m. , 2008-08-22

Ahhh, much better - 7:58 p.m. , 2007-11-03

I bought a house - 8:25 p.m. , 2007-07-20

2001-08-16 - 8:54 p.m.

NP: k. d. lang's new live album, "Live By Request." It rocks so far!!!

============

So this morning when I turned on the water to brush my teeth, out came brown water. Yuck. Thank God for mouthwash and bottled water!

I didn't shower, and felt exceptionally scrubby all morning.

Then Melanie called me to tell me that my cousin's aunt's wake was today, from like 4 to 8. Great. So, at lunchtime I drove home, ascertained that the water was okay, showered, and dressed up. I like going to work dressed up every once in a while to remind people there that I *do* know how to dress, I just choose not to, most days. :D I must say, I looked good. Black shoes, black dress socks, black dress slacks, and deep dark olive shiny dress shirt with matching tie. The tie was tied perfectly so that its point just barely touched the top of my belt buckle. How I dislike modern men who tie their ties so that they're too long. It looks really dumb.

So anyway, I didn't eat lunch, which I did come to regret later in the afternoon.

I went to the wake and stayed for about 25 minutes. Saw my uncle who I haven't seen in 10 years. It was weird to see him.

My cousin did say she considered asking me if she could stay here, but then she figured it would be too much of an imposition since her two kids are with her. Finally! A clue has been received! Sweet Jesus, say Hallelujah.

Oh yeah. I did kneel in front of Auntie Karen's casket and pray. I felt better after that.

==========

After the wake I drove up to Best Buy at Holyoke Mall to try to return my 7-month old network card which has developed some sort of internal breakage which causes it to lose signal a lot. "Sorry, our return policy is 30 days." Bastiges.

The upside is, I bought a new card that doesn't need a dongle, and which does still allow access to the other slot, which is important because that's where the SCSI card goes.

I also got k. d. lang's new live album. She rocks. And only having to pay $12 for it rocked, too. CDnow wants $13.28 for it, and that's 30% off, or so they say.

They didn't have the new Sailor Moon DVD that I could see.

==============

Dr. Lenville, Grampa's friend, chiropractor, and Health Care Proxy, called me tonight to say that he had gone to see Grampa, but that Grampa was asleep when he got there. He said he asked a nurse if Grampa was sedated, and the nurse said no, but that they were concerned about him, and that they were going to take him for X-rays. They took him for X-rays (whether at RL or not, I don't know) and discovered a small amount of "infiltrate," or fluid, in the bottom of each of his lungs. As a result, they are starting him on antibiotic therapy, but Dr. Lenville views their diagnosis of pneumonia as very tentative at this point. Dr. Lenville said the fluid could be a result of the weakness of Grampa's heart.

Isn't that what leads to congestive heart failure?

In other Grampa news, today Goodwill came to take the stuff we set aside for them. Dad said they didn't take the suitcases or the books, but they took everything else. He has a source lined up to take the suitcases and the books, so that's good.

And tomorrow the movers come to cart all the stuff to 4 locations, none of which are here, I'm happy to say. I'm already regretting having taken some of the stuff I took.

I need to find out if Heidi wants the cello.

Previous <=> Next