New

Older

Mail me

Leave a note

Diaryland

Happy 10th - 7:02 p.m. , 2012-01-10

Wow - 6:22 p.m. , 2010-09-23

happy anniversary to me! - 9:13 p.m. , 2008-08-22

Ahhh, much better - 7:58 p.m. , 2007-11-03

I bought a house - 8:25 p.m. , 2007-07-20

2001-04-08 - 8:19 p.m.

Now playing: Nothing, nothing at all. Stereo and TV are both off! Wow!

-=-=-=-=-=-

Ungh. Where has this weekend gone? I had company last night - my cousin Beth Ann's fiance - Beth Ann's aunt is in the hospital down here, with grim prospects, so Beth and John came down. Beth spent the night in the hospital with her Aunt Karen, and John spent the night here on the futon.

But damn, I really could have used the time for myself.

But I do feel good that I was here for them in their time of need.

And I did get to drive John's car - a Taurus a year newer than mine, plus it was the sporty model - WOW what a difference the 3.8L engine makes as opposed to the 3.0L one in mine. Wow. The car had pickup and get up and go! Of course, I know my car needs a tune-up, but even when it's perfect it's never as perky as John's car was last night.

=-=-=-=-=-=

My friend Kate has finally moved out of her parents' house and is now set up in her own apartment about 10 miles away, in one of the towns in CT which border on MA. Cute li'l apartment, a smidge bigger than mine - has two bedrooms, and is on two floors. I think I like mine better. I went today to hang pictures for her, etc. Hung a lot of stuff, helped her hook up the cable to the VCR and TV, etc etc etc. I'm so happy for her, that she's finally out on her own. She's a few months older than I am, so it was HIGH time she got out on her own.

-=-=-=-=-=

There's a reorg at work that's being announced tomorrow. My boss called me into a meeting on Friday afternoon to tell me and some others about it. I'm not happy about it, since it means I'll be reporting to a wishy-washy spineless manager that I thought I escaped from when I left the Support department in February 1996 - no such luck, though, I guess.

I came to the conclusion on Friday, however, that I can either accept this, or I can find a new job. And since I'm not at the point where I want to find a new job, I have to accept this. And who knows, maybe it won't be as bad as I'm fearing.

But damn, I did like being my own manager for all intents and purposes.

Previous <=> Next