New

Older

Mail me

Leave a note

Diaryland

Happy 10th - 7:02 p.m. , 2012-01-10

Wow - 6:22 p.m. , 2010-09-23

happy anniversary to me! - 9:13 p.m. , 2008-08-22

Ahhh, much better - 7:58 p.m. , 2007-11-03

I bought a house - 8:25 p.m. , 2007-07-20

2006-07-07 - 10:21 p.m.

It's not a leg lamp; it's something I actually like!

So we had a lunch meeting today to talk about the half-year results. Blah blah blah, I was a good doobie and had half as much pizza as I wanted, and my Trader Joe's Thai-style green beans leftover from last night.

Then Simon (our VP of North America, big mucky-muck whose office is behind mine) announced he wanted to give an award. He said that there were the general employee recognition awards given out at the Christmas party, but those didn't always catch everyone who quietly excel day in and day out; that program doesn't catch the people without whom the office wouldn't function as smoothly as it does, people who always give more than they take; the unsung heroes. I wasn't paying too much attention because I thought it was a maternity gift for one of my coworkers.

Then he called my name! I was shocked. The award was a huge Josh Simpson vase and a signed Josh Simpson book. Josh Simpson is my favorite glass artist. I'm greatly pleased that my efforts over the years have not been in vain.

I just wish my boss had been here today to see it.

It's not anything I would have chosen for myself - I would have chosen from the blue line and not the red - but I quite like it anyway! It'll look good in my future curio cabinet. :D

Pictures are here.

Previous <=> Next