New

Older

Mail me

Leave a note

Diaryland

Happy 10th - 7:02 p.m. , 2012-01-10

Wow - 6:22 p.m. , 2010-09-23

happy anniversary to me! - 9:13 p.m. , 2008-08-22

Ahhh, much better - 7:58 p.m. , 2007-11-03

I bought a house - 8:25 p.m. , 2007-07-20

2006-06-23 - 9:43 p.m.

So tonight I bought a gadget - the Linksys WMB54G Wireless Music Bridge. It's a doohicky that sits on my stereo cabinet through which I can wirelessly listen to anything on my computer over my stereo. It took me a while to set it up - the MAC number on the sticker was 1 digit off - but once I got that squared away, it worked and is all secure on my network. While I had the stereo pulled out I picked up the CDs that had fallen behind it months ago.

I found out yesterday that the day I've been dreading arrived. Mom's landlords want to put her house up for sale, which means she'll need to move. This is a Very Big Problem as she doesn't make all that much money and was getting an astounding rent rate on the house - $300/mo - which was never raised in the 24 years she's lived there. Of course she hasn't been socking money away to prepare for this day, and the asking price (160K) is (I think) quite out of reach for her. That'd be going from $300+utilities a month to $1100+utilities or so a month for a 30 year mortgage. Last I knew she was going to talk to the bank about getting a mortgage...which I think is extreme folly - she's 66.

Plus, there's all the stuff of Karen's in that house...

It's going to be a big mess. Send good vibes!

Previous <=> Next