New

Older

Mail me

Leave a note

Diaryland

Happy 10th - 7:02 p.m. , 2012-01-10

Wow - 6:22 p.m. , 2010-09-23

happy anniversary to me! - 9:13 p.m. , 2008-08-22

Ahhh, much better - 7:58 p.m. , 2007-11-03

I bought a house - 8:25 p.m. , 2007-07-20

2005-08-24 - 8:06 p.m.

Went to the bank at lunchtime. Withdrew 75% of savings account in the form of a cashier's check. Went across street to branch of bank owning car loan. Paid off car loan. :D Should have the title for the Taurus of Toleration in about a week.

Step 3 happens tomorrow, and Friday, and whenever I have time - and that is test driving. Tomorrow I hope to drive 3 different Subaru Foresters - one auto, one manual, and one turbo with an automatic. Friday I'm hoping to drive a V6 Camry. After that, I should at least check out the Trailblaer/Silverado/whatever other trucks/SUVs I've been disdaining on the grounds I don't want or need one. I know one thing I'm not wavering on - and that's no more Fords this time. I want 4WD/AWD if I can, and an engine that makes more than 200 horsepower. I'd prefer a sedan or wagon to a truck or SUV. In fact, I want to avoid a truck or SUV. At least 20 MPG overall is another goal.

I have already crossed the Accord (both coupe and sedan), Legacy sedan, and Outback wagon off the list because I don't fit in them. The Accord was a joke. I couldn't see out of it at *all* and my head was mashed against the roof in each model, and that was with the seat all the way down. Also off the list is the Chrysler 300, which I sat in in California, and couldn't really see out of, either. Also off the list is the Toyota Highlander (didn't fit) and the Volvo Cross-Country (fit, but had the seat so low I was on the ground). Possible contenders: a late-model used Passat or A4/6 with 4MOTION, the V-6 Camry (I had a rental Camry 4 in Feb. and liked it, but no AWD).

(I know I never posted step 1. That was deciding to dump my car, and I came to that decision right before I went to California. My sister Jennifer said I should just dump the car since I've always hated it and I deserve to be happy. Good advice, that.)

Anyway, it should take a week for the title to arrive, and I'm hoping to have only a few contenders by then.

If any of you have any comments, I'd love to hear them. I'm looking to spend between 20 and 25K altogether, after my trade. I'm hoping to get about 5K for my Taurus, as it's not worth much more than that.

Previous <=> Next