New

Older

Mail me

Leave a note

Diaryland

Happy 10th - 7:02 p.m. , 2012-01-10

Wow - 6:22 p.m. , 2010-09-23

happy anniversary to me! - 9:13 p.m. , 2008-08-22

Ahhh, much better - 7:58 p.m. , 2007-11-03

I bought a house - 8:25 p.m. , 2007-07-20

2005-06-07 - 9:24 p.m.

So this past week has been hectic.

We found out about Heidi's passing on Tuesday, with the funeral on Wednesday at 1:30 in Hackensack, NJ.

At 10 a.m. Wednesday, Mom and I picked up Dad and Karen at the airport (BDL) as they'd taken the redeye from LAX.

Dad then drove my car to NJ. We only got lost once (turned the wrong way off an exit due to lousy directions; and the funeral home didn't have a website, let alone directions). We made it to the funeral with about a minute to spare. The service was beautiful. Heidi's three best friends spoke, as did her brother Peter and her kids Eric and Elizabeth (Eric is my age and Liz is a few years younger). Had I known they were going to invite people to speak, I would have spoken, but I wasn't ready, nor were my mom, dad, or sister. It's kind of a shame, since we're the only close family other than those who spoke.

Since we'd gotten there so late, we were the first in the full-to-bursting parking lot, so we were the first car behind the limousine on the way to the cemetery. That was weird - I've never been part of a funeral procession before. We got there, the crew took out Heidi's coffin, put it in the ground, and then they said another kaddish, and people were invited to shovel dirt. It was *so* moving.

After that, we went back to Heidi's apartment in Fort Lee for shiva. We stayed for about 2 hours, I think. It was so strange being there without Heidi. I don't know if they're going to keep the condo or what, but it's got a nice view of the Manhattan skyline. OK, this story is rapidly becoming boring. The ride home was OK until Dad started getting too tired to drive, which was in Danbury, so I took over from there. We went back to the airport, picked up their luggage which had failed to arrive in the morning, and then went to dinner at the Longmeadow Friendly's (at 10 p.m.!). Dropped Mom and Karen off, and went home. Set up the futon for Dad, etc, and went to bed around 1.

Karen and I both noted that the four of us had a really good time together. We four have never to our knowledge spent any time together like that. Never! It sounds strange, but it's true.

I took Thursday and Friday off from work so I could visit. Thursday Dad and I went to see the new Star Wars movie, and I thought it sucked. It was lovely to look at but there was nothing there. Friday we just farted around. Saturday they went home. Sunday I recovered.

Monday I arrived at work to find a medal on my desk, "Most Vacation Days Taken for A Distant Relative's Funeral." Normally I can appreciate a joke but I was just offended. The guilty parties have apologized, so I'm glad I mentioned my offendedness.

Previous <=> Next