New

Older

Mail me

Leave a note

Diaryland

Happy 10th - 7:02 p.m. , 2012-01-10

Wow - 6:22 p.m. , 2010-09-23

happy anniversary to me! - 9:13 p.m. , 2008-08-22

Ahhh, much better - 7:58 p.m. , 2007-11-03

I bought a house - 8:25 p.m. , 2007-07-20

2000-08-28 - 9:38 p.m.ish

Now playing: The Oak Ridge Boys' "Beautiful You." How I adored this song when I was 14. Even back then I knew I loved harmony. :)

=-=-=-=-=

Went to Granny's tonight after work to assemble a side table and show her how to work the CD player Mom got her. Mission accomplished. Also diagnosed the washing machine, which she said was busted but which was working perfectly. *shakes head* I just don't get her pathetic-around-machines act. Papa must've been a real hardass.

And speaking of Papa, while I was in the basement, Granny told me to look at anything I wanted to...so I did. I found a lockbox on a table containing Papa's two divorce decrees, the result of a private invetigator's investigation into where his two daughters from his second marriage were (this was in like 1948 or so) and various working papers, receipts of Granny's wages during the war, etc etc etc. She wanted me to take the box but I demurred.

So instead she gave me a mother-of-pearl men's penknife that she said Papa and Nana (his mother) always used to fight over, so I guess it has sentimental value. It will join the collection on top of my CD rack, I think. Don't want to put it on the ledge where visiting kids can get at it.

=-=-=-=-=-

Miz Ellen laments how she doesn't laugh as much as she used to. Lord, do I know that feeling. Having a laugh-till-you-cry session is important and happens all too rarely in my life, too. The only times I can count on having one are when I got to the farm, or sometimes when I'm with Melanie. :D

=-=-=-=-=-

And Miss Karen, you exude cuteness. Even if you're not wearing pink. So there. :D

Previous <=> Next